The Bigg Bird Forum Index The Bigg Bird Forum
The Family Friendly Birding Site

AlbumAlbum   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Elizabeth and Malcolm's Bluetit Pages
The Bigg Bird Forum Index

Greatbluehopefuls nest box 2013-2018 - Kildare,Ireland
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 34, 35, 36  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Greatbluehopeful

ireland.gif
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:18 am    Post subject: Greatbluehopefuls nest box 2013-2018 - Kildare,Ireland Reply with quote

Hi again all,

I posted last night in the introduction section, and I had a few questions, which you've probably heard many times before, so in the mean time I'll move away from that for now, and begin here instead by explaining my bird box set up.

This is my first year with nest boxes.

I've an Aldi webcam nest box set up for Blue tits, Coal tits and Great tits hopefully. I measured the hole and its a generic 32mm. The box is up about 8ft off the ground, on the brick wall of my extension. There is no surrounding vegetation. Hope this won't be an issue. The eaves of the roof are protecting the box from above. No predators can reach this box. I put this up on 3rd January and there has been no interest whatsoever, that I could see, until last week.

The second box I have is an Aldi non-camera open fronted box for Robins and Wrens which is situated lower down, about 3.5ft off the ground in a dense mature Clematis climbing plant...I've left a gap to create a bit of a path flight and so they can see it! I put this up during the week. I have two pairs of Robins who visit my garden and a wren, so time will tell if they like my offering.