The Bigg Bird Forum Index The Bigg Bird Forum
The Family Friendly Birding Site

AlbumAlbum   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Elizabeth and Malcolm's Bluetit Pages
The Bigg Bird Forum Index

Introduction...and some questions.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Bigg Bird Forum Index -> Welcome and Other Greetings
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Greatbluehopeful

ireland.gif
PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:59 pm    Post subject: Introduction...and some questions. Reply with quote

Hi all, Just registered and wanted to say hello. Very Happy

This is my first year with a camera nest box. I put it up on the 3rd January onto the side wall of my house, north-east facing.

It is an Aldi camera nest box and it currently set up for Blue/Coal/Grey tits with the hole in the front.

I have a second open fronted Aldi nest box (not a camera one) which I placed only last week, on a lower wall, very well secluded in some Clematis, also north-east facing. I'm hopeful for Robins or even Wrens in this one.

For weeks and weeks there was no interest in camera house...absolutely NOTHING....until last Thursday morning at about 8am, there was a few visits from a Blue tit to the entrance of the camera box, as far as I know, there hasn't been any birds go into the house yet?

It was mostly just a bit of pecking, tweeting and then flying away. Then nothing until yesteday, when around 10:30am there was a brief visit again from a Blue Tit. I noticed on these very few occasions it happened to be nice and bright and sunny, and slightly warmer than the previous days. But since the cold snowy weather has kicked in again, its all gone quiet again. Is there definitely a connection to more activity in brighter weather?

As its a very cold March will this delay things so?