The Bigg Bird Forum Index The Bigg Bird Forum
The Family Friendly Birding Site

AlbumAlbum   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Elizabeth and Malcolm's Bluetit Pages
The Bigg Bird Forum Index

Buddleia Bush

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Siskin

england.gif
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:05 pm    Post subject: Buddleia Bush Reply with quote

Hi all,
I have a buddleia bush in my garden, and during last year's late frosts the green growth died back, but then regrew. Should I bring the bush indoors this year? It is only tiny, but I really want it to flourish next year for the butterflies.

Thanks,

Natalie
pauco

england.gif
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi siskin, i am no expert on plants, but if as you say its so small, cant do any harm indoors for the winter and it will be nice and fresh for next spring. Hopefully someone will give you expert advice soon. Good luck with the Butterflies.

Paul
Kit

england.gif
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm no expert either, but buddleia is a weed round here! It self-seeds in every nook and cranny, even between bricks on house walls. I imagine it'd be pretty hard to kill I think it's one of those that does just die down after the frost and then reappear next year.

It's amazing how many butterflies do visit even the smallest buddleia shrubs. I had one sprouting out of the front wall of the house a few years ago, and I was loathe to cut it down because I got a wonderful view of all sorts of butterflies feeding on the nectar right outside my sitting-room window. It had to go, sadly, because it was bridging the damp course, but I do have a big one in the back garden anyway. I just have to walk a bit further to see the visitors! Very Happy

ornithopod

england.gif