The Bigg Bird Forum Index The Bigg Bird Forum
The Family Friendly Birding Site

AlbumAlbum   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Elizabeth and Malcolm's Bluetit Pages
The Bigg Bird Forum Index

Bmp or Jpeg.

View previous topic :: View next topic  
HillBilly

england.gif
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:06 am    Post subject: Bmp or Jpeg. Reply with quote

Jpeg or Bmp.

I was gonna post this as an answer to a forum question but thought it may be better to start a new thread. Please post any comments if I have over looked or indeed got something wrong, I am by no means an expert but I have a passion for all thing computer related and try to share this in my own way.

Well if you are working on a picture at home and will be doing lots of edits and saves before it is finished, then you should be using a lossless saving version in the Jpeg format if your software offers it, but a lot of software bundled with the camera is basic at best. I would recommend that while editing you save each time in Bmp format.
“why?” you shout. Well here is my example that I have done to explain why.
As mentioned above, most cheaper software does not offer you Jpeg compression options as we have already seen with the Avatar problems and the like, which also means that it will just compress to a built in level that you have no control over. It maybe lossless or it may compress to a degree that you do not notice but it has compressed and therefore has degraded your image.
Bmp works in this way, each pixel is allotted a piece of data, if you imagine a chess board, 64 squares each one has a colour. Bmp will save each square by looking at where it is and what colour it is, creating a larger file but an exact replica at the same time.
Jpeg will not do this and will squeeze you image into a smaller file size.